The Half Moon party 

Featuring 3 dance-floors, amazing decorations, shows and entertainers, bars, food stands, shops and UV body painting. Half Moon festival is the livest party on Koh Phangan… in the tropical jungle! It is an out-of-this-world experience of fun, party, music, arts and energy.

Doors open at 8pm and the event runs until after sunrise. For those who hang-out from dusk to dawn, sunrise is always surreal! A moment like-no-other, that forges friendships and lasting memories.

Every ticket comes with one drink and a HMF Neck Strap

Check Facebook for DJ Line ups and more!

When is it? 

As its name suggests, the Half Moon party is twice a month, when the moon is Half. Meaning that every 15 days, you’ll have a Half Moon party, while the Full Moon party is once a month.

Get ready to party!

Our guide below is here to help you have the time of your life when visiting Koh Phangan.

2019 Half Moon party dates

 

 

Saturday, September 21, 2019
Sunday, October 6, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019

 

If you are not on Koh Phangan by this time, no worries. There are a lot of alternatives where you can go. For example Full Moon PartyJungle Experience, Blackmoon Culture and Sramanora Waterfall Party.

2020 Half Moon party dates

Friday, January 3, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Saturday, February 1, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Sunday, March 1, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Saturday, June 13, 2020
Saturday, June 27, 2020
Sunday, July 12, 2020
Sunday, July 26, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Saturday, November 7, 2020
Sunday, November 22, 2020
Monday, December 7, 2020
Monday, December 21, 2020

Accommodation

You can find accommodation all over the island, but you’ll want to stay in Baan Tai, Baan Kai or Haad Rin (close to where the actual party is). The easiest way to find accommodation is to book your hostel  or hotel in advance online. Beware that the latest you wait until the night of the party, the less rooms or beds will be available, and the more expensive it’ll get.

How much does a room cost?
Here’s what you can expect to pay for your accomodation in the time of the Half Moon party if booked in advance:

Shared Dorm room: starting at 100 baht
Standard room with A/C and hot water: 400–600 baht
Basic bungalow: 600 baht
Nice hotel room or private bungalow: 700–1,500 baht

Again, remember, the latest you book, the higher the prices will be.

How to Get There

There is no airport in Koh Phangan, so you’ll need to come by ferry wherever you’re landing at. There are 2 main airports you can transit by after arriving to Bangkok.

The closest and most convenient one is Koh Samui, from which the ferry to Koh Phangan will just be 30 minutes. Being the most convenient also means that the flights are much more expensive than the other travel route (approximately 2 to 3 times more expensive). The ferry from Koh Samui to Koh Phangan (including the bus transfer from the airport to the pier) should cost you however 200 Baht while the flights from Bangkok to Koh Samui are at least 3,200 baht (and up to 5,000 Baht in high season or New Year). The Samui ferry will drop you off at the main dock of Thong Sala or Haad Rin, depending on time of day and ferry company.

The second way to come from Bangkok to Koh Phangan is to do Bangkok to Surat Thani and then take a bus from Surat Thani airport to the pier (1h30) and the ferry to Koh Phangan (approx. 2h30 in ferry). The price for flights from Surat Thani generally cost around 2,000 baht  from Bangkok on Air Asia and the bus and ferry is usually 500 Baht. The best way and also cheaper is to book the entire trip together to make sure your travels connect.

If you have time to kill and you’re on a budget, you also can take a bus from Bangkok instead of a flight. The ferry companies also run overnight buses from Bangkok to Koh Phangan for 450–600 baht including the ferry. You’ll take an overnight bus to Surat Thani, sit at the ferry terminal for a few hours, and then take the ferry to the island. It’s a full day and night of travel, but of course it’s much cheaper than flying.

The Half Moon Party Itself

Half Moon Festival takes place every 2 weeks: 1 week before and 1 week after the Full Moon party. The festival, organized in the forest of a tropical island attracts several thousands of participants.

Featuring 3 dance-floors, amazing decorations, shows and entertainers, bars, food stands, shops and UV bodypainting. Half Moon makes you feel like you are in a festival… in the tropical jungle, on an island in Thailand! It is an out-of-this-world experience of fun, party, music, arts and energy.

Doors open at 8pm and the event runs until after sunrise. For those who hang-out from dusk to dawn, sunrise is always surreal! A moment like-no-other, that forges friendships and lasting memories.

Costs

Half Moon Festival is the most expensive party on the island, but you can expect the best quality of infrastructure too. The cost for one ticket is 1,500 Baht and includes one drink. You can buy them in most hostels and ticket resellers.

Money-Saving Tips
Buy your ticket online for 1,390 Baht until 12..pm (noon) on the festival date. After 12pm tickets can be purchased at Sunset Walk or at the festival gate.